Mahoning Valley Safety Council

The Mahoning Valley Safety Council (MVSC) offers solutions to reduce workplace injury and manage workers' compensation claim frequency and severity.

Established in the 1970s as the Greater Youngstown Safety Council, and later, as the Manufacturer's Association, the Mahoning Valley Safety Council is a private, non-profit public service organization dedicated to workplace safety awareness among small, medium and large employers and their employees. Whether your business is in the service, health, retail or manufacturing industries, the MVSC offers something for everyone.

Subscribe to receive emails
MVSC Screen copy

The Mahoning Valley Safety Council:

  • Join Safety Council
  • Meets 12 times a  year for breakfast or luncheon training sessions. (Please Note: The MVSC will only hold 8 virtual meetings via Zoom webinars through Fiscal Year 2022 due to ongoing COVID concerns.)
  • Strives to attract all local companies as members.
  • Promotes workplace safety awareness.
  • Advocates employer safety programs.
  • Encourages networking opportunities among Mahoning Valley safety professionals.
  • Is one of more than 80 local safety councils in Ohio - and the largest chamber-affiliated program in the state.
  • Is co-sponsored by the Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation, Division of Safety & Hygiene, in cooperation with the Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber.
  • Serves Mahoning, Trumbull and northern Columbiana counties in Ohio and Mercer and Lawrence counties in western Pennsylvania.


        Kim Calvert  
  Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber 
        Tony DeAscentis
        William Dennis Jr.  
  Trumbull County Sheriff's Office 
        Mark Egley  
  Niles Expanded Metals 
        Debbie Gilger
    Shafer Industrial Services, Inc. 
        Glenn "LG" McClelland       AML Industries 
        Tom Miles  
  Winner Aviation 
        Megan Wine       TEMA Roofing Services 
        Brian Zachetti                 Ohio Bureau of Workers Compensation 


Monthly meetings provide a place for members to discuss similar safety concerns and solutions with fellow members. An Ohio BWC Division of Safety & Hygiene Safety consultant attends each meeting and is available to provide members with one-on-one guidance regarding specific safety needs.

Click here to view the 2021-2022 Meeting Schedule.


The Joan Kovach Safety Leadership Award

First issued in 2007, the Joan Kovach Safety Leadership Award recognizes Mahoning Valley businesses and individuals who have effectively transformed their workplaces from high-risk cultures to safety-driven environments funded and supported by executive management. The award is named in honor of Joan Kovach, a long-time safety advocate and owner of City Machine Technologies, Inc., until her death in 2006.

The Joan Kovach Safety Leadership Award recipient is honored at the annual Mahoning Valley Safety Council Leadership Awards Luncheon. The luncheon also recognizes companies that have made significant progress in reducing the number and severity of worker injury claims.

Recipients of the Kovach Safety Leadership Award include:

2021 Gasser Chair Company
2019 Niles Expanded Metals
2018 Canfield Local School District
2017 Woodlands at AustinWoods
2016 Magna Seating
2015 Antenucci, Inc.
2014 Steel & Alloy Utility Products, Inc.
2013 Boak & Sons, Inc.
2012 Taylor Steel, Inc.
2011 Ronald Nicolli, Ohio BWC Safety Consultant
2010 Dearing Compressor & Pump Co.
2009 Mike Coates Construction Co., Inc.
2008 AmericanChurch, Inc.
2007 Parker Hannifin

2019 Joan Kovach Safety Award